The FirstNet Authority recognizes the winners of two awards each year at 5x5.

Chief Harlin R. McEwen Public Safety Broadband Communications Award

The prestigious Chief Harlin R. McEwen Public Safety Broadband Communications Award honors an individual who has displayed remarkable leadership or made significant contributions in the field of public safety broadband communications. Established in 2017, the award recognizes the spirit of service, commitment, and dedication that is a proud tradition among public safety.

Patriot Award

Established in 2023, the Patriot Award recognizes individual first responders or public safety agencies that use FirstNet to make their communities safer. Recipients of the award are considered from across public safety disciplines — fire service, law enforcement, EMS, emergency management, and 911/emergency communications. The Patriot Award celebrates and recognizes trailblazers who save lives and protect communities using public safety broadband.

Innovation in Technology Award

For the first time in 2024, the Innovation in Technology Award recognizes public safety champions, academics, or innovators that have collaborated with NIST PSCR to achieve great advancements in public safety communications technology. The award recognizes the dedication of individuals or organizations to help first responders more effectively carry out their mission of saving lives and property.